What’s a Sewist?

According to Threads Magazine, Sewist: a relatively new term, combining the words “sew” and “artist”, to describe someone who creates sewn works of art, which can include clothing or other items made with sewn elements.  Sewer vs. Sewist – Threads It sure beats being a Sewer! (an underground conduit for carrying off drainage water and waste matter.)  After calling myself a ‘seamstress,’ for the past 30 plus years, this term is starting to grow on me!
I began my foray down the creative path with fabrics and my sewing machine in my youth. Designing cloth clothing for my paper dolls when I was around seven, or so my mother tells me.  Fifty years later and the passion has not waned.  Over the years I’ve made numerous articles of clothing for myself as well as sewing for others, primarily women, curvaceous women at that. I’ve taken on the aesthetic of ‘Real Women have Curves’ with a tag line of ‘Let me flatter yours!’  It’s a niche I’ve found myself very good at, being a big, curvy girl myself!!
I’m starting this venture to document all the things I create with fabric, needle and thread. There have been so many items and people, and as I get older I want something to go back to, to remember and relive these moments, some good and some not so good.  Along the way I hope to weave tales of times past, what I’ve learned, and what I can teach, share and pass on to others who are as passionate about sewing as I am. I hope you’ll follow me on this journey – what’s more amazing than taking a rectangle of cloth, cutting it into different shapes, zip it under the pressure foot of a sewing machine, stitch away, and in no time you have an article of clothing to wear!  Yep, it’s an art.
I have no professional training, I’ve read very little literature on sewing and couture, my skills have been developed over many years, with lots of patience, and a damn good seam ripper!!  I didn’t have the internet or you tube tutorials to hone my craft, very few others in my adult life even know how to thread a needle and sew on a button. For me, it’s just been practice, practice, practice. And all that practicing sure has paid off!!
 I’m heading into the studio now, but will be back soon with a lot more to share!
fb_img_1477999487361
4 thoughts on “What’s a Sewist?

  1. Jim November 11, 2016 / 9:43 pm

    I have been browsing online more than 3 hours today, yet
    I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It is pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all website owners and bloggers made good content
    as you did, the web will be much more useful than ever
    before.

  2. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! November 17, 2016 / 5:42 am

    I love your story. It’s always inspirational to hear of someone else who hasn’t been educated in a college or fashion school sewing her own (and other’s) clothes. And I don’t like the term S.E.W.E.R. neither!!! My aunt was a trained seamstress – I’m not a good as she was – so I guess I’m a sewist too!

    • Creations by Paula November 20, 2016 / 1:43 am

      Thanks so much! It’s what I’ve wanted to do since I was 7 . . . Sewists unite!!

Leave a Reply

